Skip to content

Interacting with C. Michael Patton at To Be Continued

July 15, 2010

I’ve been spending a lot of my time over at another blog I co-author with the very energetic and eloquent Scott Lencke.  If you are not aware it is called To Be Continued…  The reference is to the ministry of the Body of Christ continuing to do His works through the power of the Holy Spirit, often referred to as “spiritual gifts.”  These were intended, we argue, to be continued throughout the church age.  This view is known as Continuationism.  Hence the address of the blog http://continuationism.com.

Today marks the completion of an eight-week joint effort between Scott and me to respond to an eight-part blog post by C. Michael Patton, entitled “Why I am not Charismatic.”  A downloadable PDF e-book version is available here.

C. Michael Patton is the industrious and creative founder of Reclaiming the Mind Ministries, the umbrella organization for The Theology Program, Parchment & Pen blog, and the Theologica discussion network, where I also discuss and blog.

With the completion of our eighth part (by Scott), we also have made the whole series available in e-book form here.

One Comment leave one →
  1. benkeshet permalink
    July 16, 2011 9:28 pm

    b”h

    Hello, I’ve read various articles at your site, including your eight part response to Michael Patton, and as a continuationist I appreciated it a lot.

    Based on my experience it seems to me that both cessationism and pentecostal “subsequence” are a misreading of Scripture. Romans 10:9-13 is Paul’s succint “order of salvation” and the final verse is a quote from Joel 2:32 about the charismatic outpouring of the Spirit, which was also quoted by Peter on Shavu’ot – Pentecost. The pentecostal “subsequence” view is that Luke was “charismatic” while Paul was “soteriological” in their views of two differing “Spirit baptisms.” I disagree.

    I have a pdf of a paper I completed, which, following peer review, is very soon to be published in a Messianic journal. I reexamine the basis of the the proclamation of the “Besorah” (Good News) and show that the Spirit baptism was a palpable event that was anticipated by recipients. My basic thrust is that Ezekiel 36:25-27 has been inaugurated for Israel via John the Baptist and Messiah Yeshua, and that implicit in verses 26-27 is Messiah’s Spirit baptism, that is now also available for all nations, evidenced in Acts 10 in Cornelius’ house.

    If you should be interested, I would greatly appreciate your comments, whether many or few. You can email me and I’ll send it.

    Best wishes in Messiah.

    Hanoch

Leave a Reply

